Stack Bulletin

~/blog/is-lions-mane-safe-what-human-trials-recorded

~4 min read By Staff, Stack Bulletin

Is lion's mane safe? What the human trials recorded

No trial abstract we read reports harm at the doses given for up to 16 weeks, but most say nothing about side effects. Five trials and a review, set out.


At the doses studied, for up to 16 weeks, no trial abstract this desk read reports harm from lion’s mane. One 2009 trial found its laboratory tests showed no adverse effect. But most abstracts say nothing about side effects either way, the trials are small and short, and one allergic reaction to the fresh mushroom is on record.

That is the honest answer to “is lion’s mane safe”, and it is an evergreen one: there is no news peg here, only the published human evidence. This desk read five trial abstracts and one review through PubMed’s E-utilities on 8 October 2026. A PubMed search for Hericium erinaceus records tagged as clinical trials returned seven records; we read the five below, and the other two, one of them from 1985, were not read for this piece.

Is lion’s mane safe in the trials?

Every cell is from the abstract, not the full paper. Where an abstract does not print a figure, the cell says so.

Study (PMID)PreparationDaily doseLengthWhoAdverse events, per abstract
Mori 2009 (18844328)Tablets, 96% dry powderFour 250 mg tablets, three times a day16 weeks30 adults aged 50-80 with mild cognitive impairment“Laboratory tests showed no adverse effect”
Saitsu 2019 (31413233)Fruiting-body supplementNot stated in abstract12 weeksNot stated in lines readAuthors call oral intake safe; no count given
Docherty 2023 (38004235)Supplied by Sempera Organics1.8 g28 days41 healthy adults aged 18-45No adverse-event statement
Nagano 2010 (20834180)CookiesNot stated in abstract4 weeks30 womenNo adverse-event statement
La Monica 2023 (38140277)Nordic-grown extract1 g, one doseMeasured at 1 and 2 hoursNot stated in lines readBlood pressure rose in the guayusa arm only

What does “no adverse-event statement” mean?

It means the abstract is silent, not that the trial saw nothing. Docherty, Nagano and La Monica may report tolerability in their full texts, which this desk did not read for this piece. Saitsu’s “safe” is the authors’ own conclusion, offered without a number behind it in the abstract.

Mori 2009 is the only row that says what was checked. It is also the longest exposure here, twelve tablets a day for 16 weeks, and its scores fell back within four weeks of stopping. Its first author’s listed affiliation is the mushroom laboratory of Hokuto Corporation, a mushroom company, which is worth knowing when a 30-person trial carries this much weight.

La Monica 2023 is sometimes read as a blood-pressure warning. The abstract says the guayusa extract, AmaTea Max, “uniquely elevated” it; the lion’s mane arm is not named.

Is there any case of harm?

One, in the records this desk read. The ALSUntangled review says lion’s mane appears safe as powder or capsule, but notes one anaphylactic case after a patient ate the fresh mushroom. That is mushroom allergy, the risk this record actually names.

What are the most common side effects of lion’s mane mushroom?

The five trial abstracts this desk read do not name one. Mori 2009 says laboratory tests showed no adverse effect, and the other four either call the intake safe without a count or carry no adverse-event statement at all. Lists of stomach complaints you see elsewhere may come from full papers or reports we did not read, so we cannot give you a rate.

What are the serious side effects of lion’s mane mushroom?

The one serious reaction in the records we read is allergic. The ALSUntangled review notes a single anaphylactic case after a patient ate fresh lion’s mane mushroom. It is one report, cited second-hand, not a trial finding, but anaphylaxis is a medical emergency, and anyone who reacts to mushrooms has a specific reason to be careful.

Who should not take lion’s mane?

On these records, anyone with a known mushroom allergy comes first. Beyond that, the evidence is silent rather than reassuring: the abstracts we read describe older adults with mild cognitive impairment, a group of women and healthy 18-to-45-year-olds, over four to 16 weeks. They tell you nothing about pregnancy, children or people on prescription medicines; that is a question for a clinician.

Where this leaves the label-reader

“Not shown to be harmful at these doses for up to 16 weeks” is a real finding. It is not “proven safe”, and a product that says otherwise is overselling five small studies. The trials also used defined preparations, which is why our category review asks what part of the mushroom a tub contains. It is the same exercise we ran for bacopa on stomach upset and tiredness. None of this is medical advice, and the FDA has not evaluated it. Lion’s mane is sold in adult supplements not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.